People are increasingly looking to open and create a Google Ads account in order to promote their website and expand their business. Millions of users now use this platform to create online ads in order to reach the right people at the right time with the products or services they offer. However, when they see the need to stop using this tool, they face the scenario of How do I get rid of my Google Ads account? The procedure for terminating or deleting your Google Ads account is unknown.
Before you begin, it’s important to understand the differences between some processes. For example, canceling an account in Google Ads is not the same as deleting an account. Because Google Ads is a service or product that is part of a Google account, such as Gmail, My Business, YouTube, and Google Calendar.
How to cancel Google Ads Account?
In Google Ads, canceling an account is actually a temporary suspension of the account. This action will automatically stop all ads within 24 hours. However, you will still have access to your account and can reactivate it at any time.
With the exception of promotional offers, when a Google Ads account is canceled, you may receive a refund of the account balance you’ve been using. The remaining balance is refunded within four weeks using the payment method used in the campaigns. Furthermore, before canceling, it must be remembered that there must be no debit or pending balance in order to cancel.
Things to keep in mind when canceling your Google Ads account.
After canceling the account, the databases of the clients who have been uploaded in Google Ads campaigns will be closed, and no new data can be added; additionally, in an attempt to recover the data from these databases, the users who are part of the databases will be deleted.
It is possible that there are issues at the time of cancellation, and the option to “cancel my account” is not available. However, in this case, there is a documentation option to ensure that the requirements are being met or not.
Steps to Cancel Google Ads Account?
- You must first have administrator access to your Google Ads account, with billing set up correctly on your account. The “settings” section is found on the toolbar .
- Once the settings menu is displayed, you must select the “preferences” option.
- When you click on preferences, you will find the label called “account status”, and now click on “cancel my account”.
How to Delete Google Ads Account?
If you delete your google account, this will automatically Delete your Google Ads Account. All Google product accounts associated with them are terminated, making none of them inaccessible, and the Gmail username is removed and cannot be used in the future. Before deleting the account, it should be noted:
- All account data and content, such as emails, files, calendars, and photos, are lost.
- Signed-in Google services such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, or Play will no longer be available.
- Subscriptions or content purchased as accounts on YouTube or Google Play, such as apps, music, movies, games, and TV shows, are lost.
Before deleting the account, you can review the information, download it, and even update the account recovery data in case you need to recover it later.
Steps to Delete Google Ads Account
- You sign in to your Google account, as usual.
- Enter the control panel to “manage your Google account”.
- On the left side, the “Data and Privacy” section is displayed.
- Now scroll down until you see “More Options” and then click on “Delete Your Google Account”. Confirm all the conditions and accept the deletion of the account.
- Congratulations! Your Google Ads Account is Permanently Deleted.
You can also Recover Your Google Account
In case you want to recover the account, you have a maximum period of 5 days to do so; after the deadline, it will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.